Checked 12 October 2026

Japan Working Holiday Job Programmes Compared

Several companies will line up a job in Japan before you fly, mostly at ski resorts. They differ a lot on price, on whether the job is actually guaranteed, and on when you pay. Here is what each one publishes, side by side.

We run Helping Hand, one of the options below. Every other row only uses what the provider states on its own Japan page, linked, as of 12 October 2026.

Side by side

ProgrammePriceHow the job is arrangedWhen you payIf no job is foundHousingAgeTaking applications?
Helping HandAny working holiday nationality£650Guaranteed job, secured before you flyNothing until your job is securedYou pay nothingIncluded in Niseko and most ski areas; help finding a place in cities18–30Open: Niseko, Japan ski season and anywhere in Japan
Global Work & TravelInternational£2,145 (shown to UK visitors; $3,345 elsewhere)"Guaranteed job match", but the employer makes the hiring decisionDeposit to book, with pay-later plansNot stated. Cancelling with 84+ days' notice costs 50%, with the rest as store credit7 nights on arrival, then help finding your own18–30Open, flexible dates
JENZA (formerly BUNAC)UK and internationalUS$1,699 (≈ £1,290)Pre-arranged 3–4 month ski job (Dec–Mar) after a video interviewUS$115 deposit, then US$1,584Not stated on the pageStaff housing where the job provides it, plus 5 nights on arrival20+ for ski employersSki jobs closed for this winter; reopen in May–June
The Working Holiday Club (Japow Pack)Australia, New Zealand and UKFull fee not published; $499 depositJob offer from partner employers before you leave$499 deposit, full fee 30 days laterFee refunded minus the $499 deposit, once all job options are exhaustedStaff housing included22+On hold for 2026/27
Stepabroad (Ski Resort)CanadaC$1,199 (≈ £640)Ski resort job placement, described as guaranteedNot stated on the pageNot stated on the pageNot included; they can connect you with options18–30Not stated; the season runs mid-November to April

Helping Hand

Price
£650
How the job is arranged
Guaranteed job, secured before you fly
When you pay
Nothing until your job is secured
If no job is found
You pay nothing
Housing
Included in Niseko and most ski areas; help finding a place in cities
Age
18–30
Taking applications?
Open: Niseko, Japan ski season and anywhere in Japan
Areas
Niseko now, plus Japan-wide ski and flexible placements. Hakuba, Okinawa, Kyoto, Osaka, Tokyo and more on the waitlist
Who it is for
Any working holiday nationality

Global Work & Travel

Price
£2,145 (shown to UK visitors; $3,345 elsewhere)
How the job is arranged
"Guaranteed job match", but the employer makes the hiring decision
When you pay
Deposit to book, with pay-later plans
If no job is found
Not stated. Cancelling with 84+ days' notice costs 50%, with the rest as store credit
Housing
7 nights on arrival, then help finding your own
Age
18–30
Taking applications?
Open, flexible dates
Areas
Resorts, hotels and ryokans, including Niseko and Hokkaido. You arrive in Tokyo or Kyoto
Who it is for
International

JENZA (formerly BUNAC)

Price
US$1,699 (≈ £1,290)
How the job is arranged
Pre-arranged 3–4 month ski job (Dec–Mar) after a video interview
When you pay
US$115 deposit, then US$1,584
If no job is found
Not stated on the page
Housing
Staff housing where the job provides it, plus 5 nights on arrival
Age
20+ for ski employers
Taking applications?
Ski jobs closed for this winter; reopen in May–June
Areas
Niseko, Rusutsu and Furano. Its separate Own Job option (US$1,795) covers Tokyo and Kyoto
Who it is for
UK and international

The Working Holiday Club (Japow Pack)

Price
Full fee not published; $499 deposit
How the job is arranged
Job offer from partner employers before you leave
When you pay
$499 deposit, full fee 30 days later
If no job is found
Fee refunded minus the $499 deposit, once all job options are exhausted
Housing
Staff housing included
Age
22+
Taking applications?
On hold for 2026/27
Areas
Niseko (and Hakuba)
Who it is for
Australia, New Zealand and UK

Stepabroad (Ski Resort)

Price
C$1,199 (≈ £640)
How the job is arranged
Ski resort job placement, described as guaranteed
When you pay
Not stated on the page
If no job is found
Not stated on the page
Housing
Not included; they can connect you with options
Age
18–30
Taking applications?
Not stated; the season runs mid-November to April
Areas
Japanese ski resorts
Who it is for
Canada

Prices are as shown on each provider's site on 12 October 2026. The ≈ £ figures are our conversions at that day's rates (£1 = US$1.32, C$1.88). Flights, insurance and spending money are extra in every case. "Not stated" means we couldn't find it on the provider's Japan page. Prices and terms change, so confirm with the provider before you book.

These aren't identical packages. Global Work & Travel and JENZA include arrival nights and an orientation in Tokyo or Kyoto. Helping Hand concentrates on the job itself, plus visa help and support where you work, with housing included in Niseko and most ski areas. Pick the one whose inclusions match what you need.

Each programme in more detail

Helping Hand (us)

£650 · Any working holiday nationality

Our own service. We focus on the job: we find and secure it before you leave, help with the visa paperwork, and support you on the ground where you work. There is no deposit. The £650 fee is due only once your job is confirmed.

  • Guaranteed job before you leave
  • Accommodation included in Niseko
  • Visa application help and a pre-departure planning call
  • Local support throughout your stay
  • Documents and translations
  • 2 Japanese language lessons

Areas: Niseko now, plus Japan-wide ski and flexible placements. Hakuba, Okinawa, Kyoto, Osaka, Tokyo and more on the waitlist.

Global Work & Travel

£2,145 (shown to UK visitors; $3,345 elsewhere) · International

A large international working holiday company, with over 12,900 reviews. The Japan trip covers 4 to 12 months and leans on arrival support and community: airport pick-up, a week of accommodation, orientation, meet-ups and an app. Its page notes that it is not a recruitment agency, so the employer decides whether to hire you.

  • Job match before you arrive
  • Airport pick-up and 7 nights of accommodation
  • Arrival and life-in-Japan orientation
  • Visa guidance and a trip coordinator
  • Monthly meet-ups and language exchange sessions
  • Emergency line and ongoing local support

Areas: Resorts, hotels and ryokans, including Niseko and Hokkaido. You arrive in Tokyo or Kyoto. Their Japan page

JENZA (formerly BUNAC)

US$1,699 (≈ £1,290) · UK and international

The UK working holiday company formerly known as BUNAC. Its JENZA Job package lines up a winter ski job in Hokkaido through partner employers, with an in-country partner (World Unite) handling arrival in Tokyo or Kyoto and the paperwork: bank account, residence card and tax registration.

  • Pre-arranged 3–4 month ski job
  • Staff housing (depends on the job)
  • Visa guide and embassy documents
  • Airport meet-and-greet and 5 nights in a houseshare or hostel
  • Job counselling and CV translation
  • Help with bank account, residence card and tax registration

Areas: Niseko, Rusutsu and Furano. Its separate Own Job option (US$1,795) covers Tokyo and Kyoto. Their Japan page

The Working Holiday Club (Japow Pack)

Full fee not published; $499 deposit · Australia, New Zealand and UK

A working holiday agency whose Japow Pack places people with partner employers in Niseko, with staff housing and, at most partners, a free season pass. Applications usually open in January and fill by May.

  • Job offer before you leave
  • Staff housing
  • Free season pass at most Niseko partners
  • Visa assistance and review
  • Pick-up from Kutchan station
  • Living and working in Japan booklet

Areas: Niseko (and Hakuba). Their Japan page

Stepabroad (Ski Resort)

C$1,199 (≈ £640) · Canada

A Vancouver-based working holiday organisation for Canadians, rated 4.9 from 291 Google reviews. It is also one of the organisations the Japanese embassy lists for submitting visas in BC and Yukon. Its Ski Resort package covers the job placement. Accommodation is extra.

  • Ski resort job placement
  • Visa submission available for BC and Yukon residents (C$150 add-on)

Areas: Japanese ski resorts. Their Japan page

Six questions to ask any programme

  • Is the job guaranteed, or only "matched"? Read the terms, not just the headline.
  • Do you pay before or after a job is confirmed, and what is refundable if no job comes through?
  • Is housing included, and how much rent comes out of your pay?
  • Which areas and employers do they actually place with, and can you choose?
  • What support do you get once you are in Japan: residence card, bank account, phone, health insurance?
  • Who handles the visa application, and is that help included in the price?

Not sure your nationality qualifies? See the Japan working holiday visa guide by country.

Helping Hand

£650, paid only once your job is secured

No deposit and no fee until you have a job. We help with your visa paperwork, plan your move with you, and support you on the ground for your whole stay.

Frequently asked questions

Which programmes guarantee a job?

Helping Hand and Stepabroad's Ski Resort package describe their placement as guaranteed. The Working Holiday Club arranges a job offer before you leave and refunds the fee, minus the deposit, if none is found. Global Work & Travel guarantees a "job match" but says the employer makes the hiring decision. Check each provider's terms before you pay.

What is the cheapest way to get a job in Japan before I go?

On published prices, Stepabroad's Ski Resort package (C$1,199, about £640, for Canadians) and Helping Hand (£650) are the lowest. They cover different things, though, so compare what's included and what happens if no job comes through.

Why is Helping Hand paid after placement?

Because the job is what you are paying for. You pay £650 only once your job is secured, so if we can't place you, you don't pay.

Is this comparison independent?

No. We run Helping Hand, so we are one of the options here. That is why every row only states what each provider publishes on its own Japan page, with a link, and the date we checked it.